from: spokesman-online.co.uk

With so many of the country’s top riders in the Ladies field, a place on the rostrum was always going to take some fighting for, and so it proved. For much of the event the stylish Lauren Jacobs looked to be a contender but couldn’t quite keep up the momentum, leaving Sandra Tamborska and Michelle Whitehead tied on eighteen points, Whitehead taking the run off for second.

Meanwhile the eventual winner, Lauren Davies, despite drawing two grid fours, was simply awesome. Never headed into the first bend and looking at ease when in front, the Leicester fifteen year old cruised to a maximum twenty point score. Lauren is a pupil at Beauchamp College where Wil was premises manager and he always took a great interest in her progress. He would have been a proud man to see her in action today.

Spare a thought for former ladies’ champ Amy Crouch. Suffering from a long standing chest infection she gamely took part but was forced to withdraw after three painful outings. Hopefully she will be on the mend soon.

Lauren Davies (Leicester) 20, Michelle Whitehead (Leicester) 18, Sandra Tamborska (Sheffield) 18, Lauren Jacobs (Ipswich) 18, Laura Watson (Leicester 15), Danielle Riley (Ipswich) 15, Tiff Collins (Hethersett) 14, Charlie Ellitts (Wednesfield) 14, Vicky Brown (Sheffield) 13, Courtney Aris (Wednesfield) 11, Chloe Whitehead (Leicester) 9, Jenna Whitehead (Leicester) 8, Kayla Whetton (East Park) 8, Amy Crouch (Leicester) 6, Honey Whitehead (Leicester) 6, Elizabeth Rigley (Leicester) 5.

The senior pairs final was a classic with some cracking racing and yet another run off, this time for third. Early pacesetters were Hull but a 7-3 reversal at the hands of Sheffield in heat ten put paid to their chances. Sheffield then suffered the same fate in heat fourteen against Birmingham leaving the Midlanders with a one point victory margin.

Birmingham 29 (Paul Heard 16, Chris Timms 13), Sheffield 28 (Ryan Hoyland 14, Jono Birks 14), Hull 27 (Adam Stephenson 15, Andy Angell 12), Stoke 27 (Errol Thaw 14, Lewis Bates 13), Wednesfield 23 (Lee Aris 14, Mark Griffiths 9), Horspath 13, Shaun Rudman 9, Mark Boaler 4)